Recommended Reading – On Print Quality and Black

Recommended Reading I by Liz Conley

As someone who is always trying to increase my skills I’m always on the lookout for a good article on anything that can teach me something new. I’ve always found that an in-depth post that covers a topic effectively is a relatively rare thing- and is more than worth passing on.

Spoon Graphics has a fantastic post on black. How different programs interpret it. How different kinds of design elements look when printed with different kinds of black. How mixing different kinds of black will affect your design. Even the comments are great and I’ve found myself referring friends who are struggling with this issue to this article repeatedly.

Recently I’ve also become quite fond of  Golden Slumber’s post on optimizing files for print. She covers some of the same concepts about ink density and rich blacks but the post is geared in a slightly different direction and gives specific steps for the process in Photoshop.

I hope you get as much out of these posts as I did!

Leave a comment