Contemporary Cameo

It’s been a busy day for me taking photos of old projects and finishing up ones nearing completion. A friend sent me a link to an exciting job opportunity for which I’ll need to submit a portfolio. There’s nothing like a portfolio submission to get me to finish a project that’s languished one step away from completion or to convince me to finally gather up my finished pieces and get them in front of a camera.

I’ve been slowly working toward a line of acrylic products that would include necklaces, ornaments and cake toppers but between TechShop work and clients hadn’t found the time to complete actual product samples. Today I finally walked down to my local bead store Let it Bead to get the findings necessary to complete a sample of a necklace.  The concept of the line is to use modern materials and techniques to create silhouette portraits reminiscent of old cameo style necklaces. Ultimately I plan to sell the line on Etsy and in local shops. Customers will be able to purchase either a stock silhouette or work with me to create a custom silhouette for them.

Over the next few days I’ll be taking product photos of the cake topper that goes along with the line which has the added benefit of requiring that I purchase a cake.  With everything I’ve got going on it’ll be a while before I start in on the packaging for the line but I’ve already got some exciting ideas forming for elegant and sophisticated boxes to match the line.

Leave a comment