Holiday Treat Boxes, Lid Design

Every year I get a little crazy for the holidays. I love to give gifts and my aspirations always exceed my time, budget and abilities. Usually what happens is that I make some grand plan for a homemade gift I’ll make for everyone I know, obsess over all the details right up until it proves impossible to complete with the way my work schedule tends to blow up around the holidays and fall right on my face.

This year is likely no different but I’m hoping to turn over a new leaf and finally, finally complete the project of one excellent handmade holiday gift.  After some false starts that proved to be too expensive or involve cooking projects obviously outside my (or at times my tiny apartment kitchen’s) capabilities I’ve set my hopes on making a small candy box, ideally to be filled with homemade marshmallows or caramels.  I’ve got about a week before the design needs to be perfected so I’ve been working on both the construction of the box and the design I’ll be printing onto it. My first step is designing the top, so below are my first couple stabs at it.

marshmallow box outlined

Since I’ll be giving these away to multiple people it makes sense to leave a space to include the name- to be handwritten into each box individually. Initially I was planning on each box being unique but then I realized that marshmallows are not vegetarian… Assuming that’s the treat I include I’ll need to have some way of easily identifying who will get which box for my friends who aren’t interested in eating gelatin.

Holiday Treat Box Design by Liz Conley

For my own sanity I’ve also made a commitment to myself not to allow these boxes to be more than one color. Considering how much work will have to go into them even with one color I really don’t need to be introducing the headache of registration to this project.

See the next part of this project!

Leave a comment